

International Field Directors and Technologies Conference

September 23, 2010 Organizers Conference Call Notes:

Participating in the call, Wayne (Hatcher), Vince (Parker), Lisa (Klein), Kelly (Elver), Rita (Koontz), Bill (Mockovak), Deb (Stempowski), Tim (Gabel), Michael (Gerling) and Cheryl (Wiese)

AGENDA:

- 1. Bylaws discussion
- 2. 2011 opening speaker update
- 3. Field program conference call details
- 4. Tech program meeting details
- 5. OTHER

NOTES:

- 1. Grant Benson provided a "Brief History of the IFD&TC Bylaws" document to facilitate a discussion about bylaws for IFD&TC. That document is attached as part of this record. Organizers approved the moving forward with the creation of bylaws. Committee chair and members noted in the August 12, 2010 minutes are as follows: Grant Benson, University of Michigan, Chair; Laural Hill, RAND; Lew Berman, CDC; Marion Schultz, WSU; Rick Myles, York University.
- 2. Wayne Hatcher announced Dr. Robert Groves, Director, US Census Bureau has given verbal agreement to be the opening speaker at the 2011 IFD&TC to be held in Scottsdale, AZ. Written confirmation will follow. NOTE: E-mail received on September 29, 2010 confirming in writing Dr. Groves commitment to speak on Monday, May 16, 2011.
- 3. Field program brainstorming conference call will be held, Tuesday, October 12, 2010 at 4:30pm EDT. A cross section of attendees and organizations was invited to participate in the call. Notes from the call will be included in the minutes from the IFD&TC Organizers conference call of October 14, 2010.
- 4. Details of the Tech program meeting will be forthcoming.
- 5. OTHER:
 - a. No other business was discussed and call ended.

Next conference call is Thursday, October 14, 2010.

NOTE: On Sept 21, 2010, the following e-mail and attached "Advisory Committee" document were sent. They are being added to these minutes to officially incorporate this information into IFD&TC records.

9/21/2010 E-mail:

"The Advisory Committee has clarified the following: Tim Gabel-term will end 2013; Michael Gerling-term will end 2014; Cheryl Wiese-term will end 2015.

Each year the committee will appoint a lead/coordinator person that will take that role until after the next conference when they will decide who will do it for the coming year. Tim Gabel will fulfill that role until after the 2011 conference.

The attached document notes these changes and will be kept as a record."